Stages for Obtaining a Skilled Independent Visa Subclass 189!

The Skilled Independent Visa Subclass 189 is a permanent residency visa designed under the General Skilled Migration program of the Department of Home Affairs. It allows overseas workers with skills in jobs with high demand in the Australian job market. There are three different streams, each with different eligibility requirements and application stages. Read this blog to know about the different stages in more detail. 

What Benefits Does the Skilled Independent Visa Offer?

As a holder of the Skilled Independent Visa Subclass 189, you can enjoy the following benefits.

  • You will be able to stay in Australia permanently.
  • You can study a full-time course in Australia.
  • You can also work full-time for an Australian employer. 
  • You will be able to access Medicare benefits. Medicare is the national healthcare program of Australia that reduces medical costs at public hospitals and nursing homes.
  • After staying as a permanent resident, you will become eligible to apply for citizenship.
  • You can travel abroad and return to Australia whenever you wish.
  • Sponsoring visa applications of your eligible relatives will also be possible.

Know the Three Streams

Before starting your Visa Subclass 189 application, ensure you know all the details of each stream, as discussed here.

Points-tested Stream

This stream is for applicants from any country except New Zealand and Hong Kong (SAR of the People’s Republic of China) who have the relevant skills to work in the Australian job industry. To apply for this stream, you must fulfill a minimum point requirement. 

New Zealand Stream

This stream is granted to citizens from New Zealand who have stayed in Australia for 5 years and have contributed to the job market here. 

Hong Kong Stream

If you come from Hong Kong or hold a British National Overseas Passport and have

demonstrated your commitment to Australian society, you can apply for this stream.

Take a Look at the Different Application Stages to Obtain Your Skilled Independent Visa

As an applicant, you will always want your application to be successful. For that, you must complete the following stages with great care.

Stage 1: Check if Your Nominated Occupation Is Present on the Skilled Occupation List

There are several skilled occupation lists designed by the Australian Department of Home Affairs, such as STSOL (Short-term Skilled Occupation List), ROL (Regional Occupation List), MLTSSL (Medium and Long-term Strategic Skills List), etc. 

You must check whether your nominated occupation is present on any of these lists. However, this stage is for those applying for the Points-tested Stream.

Stage 2: Make Sure You Fulfil the Eligibility Requirements

Several requirements are common for all three streams. Let us discuss those first.

  • You and your family members have to meet the necessary health requirements. The Department may also ask your family members not included in the application to undergo health tests.
  • All the applicants have to meet specific character requirements. Family members not included in the application may also be requested to submit character documents.
  • You or your relatives must not have any debts to the Government of Australia at the time of application.
  • There should be no record of visa cancellation or refusal.
  • You must sign the Australian Values Statement.

For the Points-tested Stream, there are some specific requirements you have to meet.

  • You must be invited to apply by the Department of Home Affairs. After assessing their Expression of Interest (EOI) documents, this permission is granted to the applicants.
  • To show that you have skills in the nominated occupation, you must go through a skills assessment test.
  • You must not be over 45 years old.
  • Scoring a minimum of 65 points is necessary for this stream. 
  • You must have at least a competent level of English.

Specific requirements for the New Zealand Stream include the following.

  • Meeting the minimum income requirements is an essential condition. If you have applied before 1 July 2021, make sure you have the financial records of the 4 completed years before the application. But if you have applied after this date, showing the financial records of the 3 completed years before the application will be required.
  • You must hold a New Zealand Special Category Visa Subclass 444.
  • You should have lived in Australia for at least 5 years.

There are also some unique requirements for the Hong Kong Stream. They are as follows.

  • Holding a 485, 457, or 482 Visa is necessary. 
  • You must be a holder of either a Hong Kong or British National Overseas Passport.
  • You should have obeyed all the conditions attached to the visa you have held. 
  • Living for 4 years in Australia is necessary. 
  • Having a functional level of English is another essential requirement.

Stage 3: Complete Several Steps Before Starting the Application

Before starting the application procedure, you must complete several necessary steps. One is taking the skills assessment if you apply for the Points-tested Stream. You must get a positive outcome. You will also have to submit an Expression of Interest for this stream through SkillSelect. After a complete assessment, the Department of Home Affairs will send you the invitation to apply. 

Irrespective of the streams, you may undertake your health examinations at this stage if asked. Also, if you plan to take professional help, hire an immigration agent in Perth before starting the actual procedure.

Stage 4: Gather the Documents

Documents that are required to apply for all the streams include:

  • Identity documents, including passport, proof of name change (if applicable), and a national id card
  • Relevant relationship documents
  • Character and health certificates
  • Documents of your partner and dependent children (if they are included)
  • Documents related to taking help from a migration consultant in Perth

Note that if you do not include dependent applicants, you must state valid reasons.

Specific documents required for the Points-tested Stream are as follows.

  • A minimum of 6 in each IELTS test component to prove that you have a competent level of English
  • Relevant skills assessment documents
  • Relevant documents to prove your claims made in the Expression of Interest

To apply for the New Zealand Stream, you must provide:

  • Residence documents, including utility bills, lease agreements, etc.
  • Income documents for a specified period

For the Hong Kong Stream, make sure you have the following documents to submit.

  • Residence documents, including rates notices, lease agreements, and utility service bills
  • A minimum of 4.5 in each IELTS test component to prove that you have a functional level of English

Note that if you have documents in any language other than English, get them translated by a professional translator.

Stage 5: Complete the Application

Once you scan all the documents, you must now upload all the documents to complete your application. 

Make sure you pay the application charge at this stage. For all the streams, this fee is AUD4115. Only in the case of New Zealand Stream, you have to pay the first 20% while applying and the remaining 80% at the time of the visa grant.

Stage 6: Complete the Post-application Steps

If the Department asks you for additional information, respond quickly.

Stage 7: Visa Outcome

Regardless of your 189 Visa Australia application outcome, you will be informed via email.

Final Words

If you want smooth immigration to Perth, it is recommended to take professional guidance from a Registered Migration Agent in Perth. Their in-depth knowledge and experience will help you achieve your desired outcome.

Back to top button